Every day,  local government workers serve tirelessly to make our communities great places to live.  They keep our lights on, parks clean, streets safe, neighbors healthy, cities vibrant, and so much more.  Missouri LAGERS knows that while these men and women don’t wear capes, they are the true heroes among us.  The Local Government Hero Award is annually bestowed upon an outstanding LAGERS member who has consistently acted above and beyond their call of duty in service to making their community a better place.

Meet our 2022 Nominees!

LAGERS will honor our three finalists and announce the winner at LAGERS Annual Meeting in Springfield, MO.

Past Winners:

2021 – Dan Burns, Battlefield Fire Protection District
2020 – Darold Donathan, City of Branson
2019 – Brent Mullins, City of Sikeston

Nominations are accepted each year between October and February from the LAGERS’ active membership.  Three finalists are selected by a selection committee of LAGERS’ staff, and a winner is chosen by the LAGERS’ Board of Trustees.  Winners are announced and honored at LAGERS’ annual meeting each year.

Nomination guidelines

Congratulations to our 2021 Local Government Hero, Dan Burns!

Also congratulations to finalists Robyn Kaufman, Boone County Family Resources Retired Executive Director and Mike Chambers, Macon County Health Center Administrator.